Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.
  • CHRISTOPHE

    FIND OUT ABOUT CHRISTOPHE VISSANT

    Support me

HIS STORY

In his attempt to run the length and breadth of Australia, Christophe Vissant is certainly pushing himself to his limits. But above all, he wants to live out his childhood dream. He wants to scuba dive on the Great Barrier Reef.

He could have simply flown there, but he would have betrayed the promise he made to a sea turtle in 2003. The Red Sea, April 2003: An outstanding scuba diver, Christophe Vissant fell victim to a terrible decompression sickness accident.

He then spent a week in a hyperbaric chamber. The doctors’ prognosis was hardly reassuring. If the small nitrogen bubble stuck in his inner ear moved back towards his brain, they were anticipating at best, hemiplegia and at worst, quadriplegia.

In his troubled dreams, amid pain and delirium, this infamous sea turtle with whom he had crossed paths just a few minutes before his accident, whispered relentlessly in his ear: “If you really believe in your dreams, you can make them come true”.

Christophe regained the use of his legs. Since then he hasn’t stopped chasing his dream.

WHY DOES HE RUN?

Before his diving accident, Christophe Vissant didn’t really like running. As a former footballer, he even admits that he really couldn’t see the point in it at all “other than to chase a ball”. Today, after the ordeal he survived in the Red Sea, he can’t do without it. “Running isn’t just for fun. It’s not just about beating someone, it’s more about achieving a goal,” he says. “When you run, you find a synergy within yourself. Your mind and body are at one and nothing can stop you.”

Some fathers want to leave their children a legacy of property and money that they’ve made over the course of their careers. By making his tour of Australia, Christophe Vissant wants to leave another type of legacy to his two daughters, Marie (aged 20) and Lisa (aged 17). Convinced of “the human will’s power and resistance”, the runner wants to show them that “in life, everything is possible. Even the impossible!”

By running across wild kangaroo country and then scuba diving on the Great Barrier Reef, Christophe Vissant wants to alert the public about the future of the largest living entity on our planet, the Great Barrier Reef. “With the current state of play, its life expectancy will not be more than thirty years,” he warns.

THE CHALLENGES I’VE ALREADY ACHIEVED!

2015

2013

2010

2008

LA CIOTAT – GENOA

462 km in 4 days, with no rest day, no assistance or refuelling from La Ciotat to Genoa in Italy, averaging 115 km per day across France, Monaco and Italy.

MARSEILLE – GORNO ALTAISK

7458 km in 108 days with no rest day from Marseille to Gorno Altaisk in Russia, averaging 69 km per day across France, Italy, Slovenia, Hungary, Ukraine and Russia. To date, Christophe is the first runner to have crossed Siberia from west to east at this pace and without taking a rest day.

AUBAGNE – ATHENS

2732 km in 38 days with no rest day from Aubagne to Athens in Greece finishing at the Acropolis, Athens. Crossing France, Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia, Montenegro, Albania and Greece.

AUBAGNE – PARIS

This was my first big challenge. I ran 1132 km in 15 days with no rest day from Aubagne to Paris averaging 75.6 km per day. I suffered a lot but nevertheless I managed to cross the whole of France to reach the capital passing through my hometown of Besançon

My other challenges

Aubagne to Juan-les-Pins SOLO (172 km in 24hrs)

Bormes-les-Mimosas to Aubagne SOLO (108 km in 13 hrs)

Millau 100 km(x5)

Nice-Cannes Marathon

Belves 100 km (x2)

Perpignan 100 km

Normandy 24hr

• Monaco 24hr

Peynier 24hr

Marseille Marathon

Rome Marathon

Florence Marathon

Marseille Cassis Semi-marathon (x3)

La Sainte-Victoire 53 km Trail

THE ECOLOGICAL AND PACIFIC CHARTER OF THE CHALLENGE

Christophe has a degree in marine biology and is an autonomous diver. In 2003 he received first prize in ecology for the “Coups de chapeau de Victor“ awarded by the newspaper, Metro, in recognition of his work in ocean environmental protection.

For Christophe Vissant, cultivating peace means forging close links between people, sharing our knowledge and respecting human dignity throughout the whole of Australia.

The entire team will have the humanitarian objective of raising public awareness about being committed to pacifism.

Christophe is particularly recognized for his culture of peace and each member of the challenge will be committed to respecting the six key points in UNESCO’s manifesto.

• Respecting all living things

• Rejecting violence

• Liberating generosity

• Listening to understand each other

• Preserving the planet

• Reinventing solidarity

FOLLOW THE CHALLENGE
Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

LA PETITE HISTOIRE

En tentant de faire le tour de l’Australie en courant, Christophe Vissant cherche certes à repousser ses propres limites, mais il veut surtout réaliser son rêve d’enfant : plonger sur la Grande Barrière de Corail.

Il aurait pu s’y rendre en avion, mais il aurait ainsi trahi le serment qu’il a prêté devant une tortue de mer en 2003. Mer Rouge, avril 2003 : plongeur émérite, Christophe Vissant est victime d’un terrible accident de décompression.

Il passe alors une semaine complète dans un caisson hyperbare. Le pronostic des médecins n’est guère rassurant. Si la petite bulle d’azote coincée dans son oreille interne remonte vers le cerveau, ils envisagent au mieux une hémiplégie, au pire une tétraplégie.

Dans ses songes, entre délires et douleurs, cette fameuse tortue de mer croisée quelques minutes avant son accident lui chuchote inlassablement : « Si tu crois vraiment à ton rêve, il se réalisera ».

Christophe a retrouvé l’usage de ses jambes. Depuis, il ne cesse de courir après son rêve.

POURQUOI COURT-IL ?

Avant son accident de plongée, Christophe Vissant n’aimait vraiment pas la course à pied. En tant qu’ancien footballeur, il avoue même que l’idée de courir « autrement qu’après un ballon » le rebutait au plus haut point. Aujourd’hui, après l’épreuve qu’il a surmontée en Mer Rouge, il ne peut plus s’en passer. « Courir, ce n’est que du plaisir. Non pas pour battre quelqu’un, mais pour atteindre un but » précise-t-il. « Quand tu cours, tu te retrouves en synergie avec toi-même. Ton corps et ton esprit ne font plus qu’un et plus rien ne peut t’arrêter. »

Certains pères ont envie de léguer à leurs enfants un bien immobilier ou l’argent qu’ils ont capitalisé au fil de leur carrière. À travers le tour de l’Australie, Christophe Vissant souhaite laisser un tout autre héritage à ses deux filles, Marie (20 ans) et Lisa (17 ans). Convaincu de « la puissance et de la résistance de la volonté humaine », le coureur veut en effet leur montrer que « dans la vie, tout est possible. Même l’impossible ! »

En courant sur le territoire des kangourous, pour ensuite aller plonger sur la Grande Barrière de Corail, Christophe Vissant désire alerter le public sur le devenir du plus grand être vivant de la planète, La Grande Barrière de Corail. « En l’état actuel des choses, son espérance de vie ne dépasse pas les trente années » prévient-il.

MES DÉFIS DÉJÀ RÉALISÉS !

2015

2013

2010

2008

LA CIOTAT – GÊNES

462 km en 4 jours, sans jour de repos, sans assistance ni ravitaillement de La Ciotat à Gênes en Italie, à une moyenne de 115 km par jour en traversant la France, Monaco et l’Italie.

MARSEILLE – GORNO ALTAISK

7458 km en 108 jours, sans jour de repos, de Marseille à Gorno Altaisk en Russie, à une moyenne de 69 km par jour en traversant la France, l’Italie, la Slovénie, la Hongrie, l’Ukraine et la Russie. À ce jour, Christophe est le premier coureur à pied à avoir traversé La Sibérie d’ouest en est à cette cadence et sans jour de repos.

AUBAGNE – ATHÈNES

2732 km en 38 jours sans jour de repos d’Aubagne à Athènes en Grèce pour une arrivée sur l’Acropole d’Athènes, en traversant la France, l’Italie, la Slovénie, la Croatie, la Bosnie, le Monténégro, l’Albanie et la Grèce.

AUBAGNE – PARIS

Premier défi important, je cours 1132 km en 15 jours sans jour de repos d’Aubagne à Paris à une moyenne de 75,6 km par jour. Beaucoup de souffrance mais je réussis néanmoins à traverser toute la France jusqu’à la capitale en passant par ma ville natale Besançon

MES AUTRES DÉFIS

• Aubagne à Juan-les-Pins en SOLO (172 km en 24h)

• Bormes-les-Mimosas à Aubagne en SOLO (108 km en 13h)

• 100 km de Millau (x5)

Marathon Nice-Cannes

• 100 km de Belves (x2)

• 100 km de Perpignan

• 24h de Normandie

• 24h de Monaco

• 24h de Peynier

• Marathon de Marseille

• Marathon de Rome

• Marathon de Florence

• Semi-marathon de Marseille Cassis (x3)

• Trail 53 km de La Sainte-Victoire

La charte écologique et pacifique du défi

Christophe est diplômé en biologie sous-marine, plongeur autonome, il obtient en 2003 le premier prix écologique « des coups de chapeau de Victor » décerné par le journal Metro, grâce à ses actions menées pour la protection des océans.

Pour Christophe Vissant, cultiver la paix cela signifie tisser des liens étroits entre les habitants, partager nos savoirs et respecter la dignité humaine à travers toute l’Australie.

Toute l’équipe aura comme objectif humanitaire de sensibiliser le public autour de l’engagement pacifiste.

Christophe étant particulièrement reconnu pour sa culture de la paix, chaque membre du défi s’engagera à respecter avec lui les six points du Manifeste de l’UNESCO.

• Respecter toutes les vies

• Rejeter la violence

• Libérer sa générosité

• Écouter pour se comprendre

• Préserver la planète

• Réinventer la solidarité

SUIVRE LE DÉFI
Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.
ME SOUTENIR - Soutenez Christophe dans son incroyable défi